mean mama


second child
December 15, 2007, 8:14 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

Yesterday, I was thinking about how I would tell my aunt that we are having another baby. I thought perhaps I’d write a snippet in our Christmas card to her, something like, “We’re expecting our third child in June.” But that sounded so wrong, because to me this feels like our second child.

I understand that we already have two children, but since they were born at the same time, we have only been through the process of pregnancy and parenting once. Even though they are two different children, everything that happens to them happens almost simultaneously. Unlike the typical “second child” parental experience, there is no time or perspective to say, “Next time, I am going to do this or that differently.” So to me, they are both like first children. They both are the victims of my lack of parenting experience and the benefactors of my first-time thrill.

Though the logistics of having another baby will indeed make the fact that we have three children very real, to me this baby will still very much be my second child.

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Wow…THIS came out of left field!! Congratulations! I am stunned and shocked, as I am sure you are too! More important, I am gad you are back online.

The second child thing, I totally get that. I takes the brain a while to think second pregnancy/third baby. I cant wait to follow along here and hear what this pregnancy is like, how it is different , etc. You are officially the second person I know pregnant after twins!

Comment by Jennifer

Whoa, whoa, whoa! And HOORAY! I stumbled upon your “formerly LaG” comment at Emmie’s today and was blown out of the water by your news. Congratulations! And I understand your concerns… take the time and the blogspace you need to think them through. We’re here for you.

So glad to have you back in my Bloglines! Yay!

Comment by Jen (yup, another one)




Leave a Reply

