mean mama


December just isn’t our month, I guess.
December 24, 2007, 1:09 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

The reason you haven’t heard from me of late is because we are STILL sick. The boys have new colds. Worse, last night one boy vomited throughout the night and today had some diarrhea. Luckily, he didn’t have a fever and was in good spirits by the end of today. We have, however, canceled both PLAN A and PLAN B for Christmas, meaning we have no plan but to stay here and be sick or not be sick. Today I rushed out and got the boys some gifts, just so there would be something for us to do on Christmas Day. (I hadn’t had the chance to go shopping yet due to sickness, caring for the sick, and pregnancy. And anyway, I don’t really believe that 2 year olds who don’t understand what Christmas is need more than a couple of toys; however, given the bleak circumstances, they’ll be cleaning up pretty good).

I could be depressed about December being a blur of sickness and Christmas being “canceled.” I’m okay, though. I have my boys and my husband, and we are together, being lazy in front of our Christmas tree. It’s not what I wanted, but I still feel very fortunate to be living the life that I currently am. Colds and stomach bugs, while inconveniences, are minor compared to other stuff we’ve been through. The present is worth something.

I hope all of you who celebrate Christmas have better luck than we and are healthy and with loved ones. And I also hope that no matter how stressful the holidays get, you are still lucky enough to feel lucky this season. Merry Christmas.

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

You have excellent perspective. Hope you all feel better…..and Merry Christmas!

Comment by Lo

Hope y’all are on the road to recovery and that you had a lovely Christmas–and WOW!! You drop by to say hello and you drop a bombshell teaser like you’re pregnant and then just leave?! 🙂 Just kidding…but wow, what wonderful news. No doubt it was a shock but a lovely surprise. I’m so glad you’re back and popped on by to say hello–now that I know where you are, I’ll be popping by regularly 🙂

P.S. We’ll be in NY Jan. 3rd – 6th, are you around? Would you maybe be interested in saying “hello” in person? Or is that too stalker-ish of me? I’m harmless, honest, but I think you already know that.

Comment by Dee




Leave a Reply

