mean mama


Aren’t you sick of hearing about sickness?
December 28, 2007, 5:23 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

It seems that’s all this blog is about lately. Sorry. And a warning: if you’re squeamish when it comes to vomit, read no further.

Well, it happened. Little M and I came down with the stomach virus on Christmas night. Nice, eh? For M, it only lasted a couple hours, really. He won the award for “least vomiting during a stomach virus ever.” Good for him. It was a little more ambiguous in my case, since I throw up one or more times per day, every day, anyway. It wasn’t until I was dry-heaving and not feeling relieved afterward that I suspected this was more than just pregnancy-related sickness.

Speaking of nausea, I am now almost 15 weeks pregnant and still going strong on the vomiting. I have to say that I suspect this pregnancy might be going the same way as the last one: sickness from start (well, 6 weeks) to finish (delivery). There is one big difference, however. In my last pregnancy, with the twins, the level of nausea I felt was so awful for the first 17 weeks that I was somewhat incapacitated. I probably threw up only about 5 times per week or so, but I always felt so incredibly sick that I was often bound to bed and in tears. I couldn’t even read a book or scroll down on a laptop without feeling queasy (something about my eyes moving that made me feel sea sick). Also, my food aversion was much, much worse in my last pregnancy. This time my nausea is always there, but there are days when it is only a 3 out of 10 rather than a constant 8 or 9 out of 10. It’s a drag, but it is definitely more manageable. And actually, if given the choice, I’d much rather puke every day than be super-nauseous all the frickin’ time.

Still. I am getting really tired of feeling even mildly nauseous all the time, and the vomiting isn’t exactly fun. I am probably up to an average of 2 times/day now. Usually it’s early morning and dinnertime, but lately it’s been in between too. In the past few weeks, I’ve lost a few pounds. Considering that I somehow gained a bunch in the first 4 weeks of pregnancy, though, it’s of little consequence. On a more harmful level, my doctor recently told me that my rib pain I’ve had for the past year, in addition to being caused by picking up two kids at once, may also be the result of rib strain and separation from so much vomiting in my first pregnancy. Considering how much more I am vomiting in this pregnancy, I figure my top rib should be up in to my shoulders and my bottom one lodged in my butt by the end of June.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

Ugh. Thinking of you!!

Comment by Lo




Leave a Reply

