mean mama


stats
April 7, 2008, 9:41 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

My fluid check today was not so hot. If I lose .5 more cms, I will have to dwell on the labor and delivery floor, as opposed to the antepartum floor, where I am currently. The beds are way less comfy down there. But whatever. It would be safer to be down there, because the lower the fluid gets, the more likely it is that the baby will grab its cord. It’s a precaution to be there, not a predictor of labor. I could still go for weeks with almost no fluid, theoretically.

The baby looked fine in its biophysical profile. I asked the technician to see is she could tell the sex, and she couldn’t. I was pretty disappointed.

When I was being wheeled out to the elevator, I ran into one of my OBs. I told him about the fluid and that they couldn’t fine the sex, hoping he would offer to look it up on the amnio report. Before I could ask, he extended his hand and said, “It’s a boy!”

I am beaming from ear to ear. I was very divided in what I wanted. My heart definitely said boy while my head said girl, I think mostly because of the whole image/pressure of the American family being “one of each.” However, I love love love having boys. I really do. And I think having only boys will allow me to concentrate on learning about how to raise good boys/men. So yes, I am thrilled and wanting to tell the whole world, which is a surprising reaction for someone who planned to keep it under wraps until the baby actually came.

Hey, meanbabyboy, I can’t wait for you to meet your brothers. Three brothers. Incredible.

15 Comments so far
Leave a comment

A boy!!!!! Congratulations!!!!! I was so disappointed that you couldn’t find out and the you did. I love that the baby is a boy. I love that you are the only woman in the house. It just seems like such a cool, queen-like dynamic!

I get the one of each thing but, now as someone with two girls, I truly can’t imagine it any other way.

Logistically for you, it makes life a LOT easier! They can share space and clothes and toys! So exciting!

I wish your fluid were higher but I am sure you will be getting regular checks, which will be reassuring. Thanks for keeping us updated.

Comment by Jennifer

yay! boys rock! hang in there meanbabyboy! you are doing great. you come from some seriously tough stock, though, so I’m not surprised.

Comment by asia

WOOT! Hi MeanBabyBoy… but only hi THROUGH Meanmama’s uterus. Stay in there for a long time!

Comment by Jen (yup, another one)

Congratulations on three brothers! That is a fine family indeed.

Comment by Lo

Ahhh a boy, that is wonderful news.

Comment by Valerie

Congratulations! That is so cool that the OB knew without having to look it up.

Comment by Amanda

Congrats on the great news–a boy, hooray! Sorry to hear about the fluid dipping a little bit but I feel better knowing that they’re keeping such a close eye on you (as I’m sure you do too).

Yippee for a house full of good boys being raised to be good men–the world definitely needs more of those!

Comment by Dee

boys are awesome! i am the auntie to two nephews and they are the sunshine of my heart ~ yay for the whole queen-dynamic, too ;P

lets hope meanbabyBoy is a good and stubborn little guy and is soooo cozy where he is for a few more weeks! 🙂

congrats mean mama, daddy & awesome big brothers!

Comment by gypsygrrl

Hooray for you! I hope it keeps that smile on your face today.

Comment by Jane

Yeah! 3 boys… that indeed is incredible. So happy that you could find out! Now stay put meanbabyboy!

Comment by JB

yaaay! Congrats and hang in there! boys ARE the best!

Comment by Dolores

Congratulations on your herd of boys! I’m sure the brothers will be very excited – hang in there.

Comment by Kirsten

I am so happy for you and your passel of boys. And glad that you got to find out. I am home if you need me.

Comment by Bri

I am glad you are beaming from ear to ear. A boy!

Comment by Co

just catching up on your blog. yay – boys are wonderful.

Comment by melissa




Leave a Reply

