mean mama


April 23, 2008, 8:31 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

MBB has been more stable since Monday AM, so we are glad for that. We still have a long way to go, but we are glad he has settled down a bit. I’m still scared, though. Unavoidable, I guess. I was discharged today, and it sucked to leave him. I will start my daily commute up to the hospital tomorrow.

I have pumped a fair amount of colostrum, but now that has slowed almost to a halt and nothing else is coming. The LCs say pump pump pump with a hospital grade pump even if nothing comes up, so that’s what I’m doing. With MBB not getting on the breast for a while, I am scared my body will not be as responsive. Encouragement please! Nursing was such a huge part of my life with my boys, and it’s easier for a preemie to deal with breastmilk than formula.

I am so tired that I feel like I’ve been hit by a truck.

I am awaiting the arrival of my other two boys right now, so tout a lours.

8 Comments so far
Leave a comment

sending *good supply* thoughts to your tatas šŸ˜‰
thanks for keeping us all updated and the pics!

ya’ll are still in my thoughts every day! now we get to count down the days… one day at a time, one day closer to MBB coming home šŸ™‚

xo

Comment by gypsygrrl

KEEP PUMPING! Oatmeal and beer are both great for milk supply, and so is fennel (I like the candy-coated fennel seeds you get at Indian restaurants, which you can usually buy by the bag in Asian markets). What would work BEST, though? Depending on how crunchy-granola you (and your friends) are, I know you have some friends with teensy babies (twins, even, hint, hint) and borrowing one to nurse (or even just stick down your shirt and snoogle for a bit) would work wonders. My mom used to be a midwife and apparently loaned me out to over twenty of her clients to help bring their supply in (*gag*–this was before AIDS but still, eek! Friends are one thing, but…). Also, if they’d let you sit by meanbabyboy’s isolette while you pump and stare at him and possibly even sniff him, that might help, too. Good luck!

Comment by Eliza

I’m so glad you get to be home finally- your twins will be thrilled to see you home! Although I can’t imagine how hard it was to leave MBB there. Thinking of you all!

Comment by JB

keep the pump going! u can do it!!! and he’s a cutie! hang in there…

Comment by Dolores

Hugs to you and I hope that the joy of seeing the boys is a fabulous counteractive to the agony of leaving MBB behind. Good luck with pumping.

Comment by Jen (yup, another one)

Sending lots of milky thoughts your way. Thanks for posting the pics – he is beautiful.

Comment by melissa

I love the idea of nursing other babies if you somehow got a chance. Ask Asia and she will tell you I am a baby-switching freak now. Well, except minus the actual switching because sticking my kid on her nipples would be cruel and unusual.

Let me know when I should bring over your pump. And what we can do to help. We love you tons.

Comment by bri

keep pumping. and yeah, oatmeal and fenugreek can help. if you need anything at all, let us know.

i’m so glad mbb is more stable. but i am sure it’s hard to have to commute to see him every day.

Comment by Co




Leave a Reply

